” I’m a beautician. Not a magician. “

Blonde high lights for actress Melissa Jean Woodside, done by Style by Victoria.
Blonde high lights for actress, Melissa Jean Woodside, done by Style by Victoria.

I heard this quote before I became a hair dresser and thought it was funny. “I’m a beautician. Not a magician.” Now that I am a hair dresser myself and it’s reality, it’s not always that funny. Well, yes, it’s still funny to me. I would like to tell you what I have learned after becoming a hair dresser. I hope it helps you find what you are looking for so you are content with your future hair and beauty appointments.

It takes time to get to know a new person, right? When we meet a new friend, we are meeting their representative. That representative is usually polite and friendly. For the first 3-6 months of knowing them. This is my experience.

We all are not perfect. Of course, after letting our guards down, imperfections come out as we are more comfortable with a new friend. This is the same as a relationship with your hair dresser. This explains why some people are so very loyal to their hair dresser, who has been with them through good times and bad times.

That being said, I learned that I made a past mistake when I went to a totally new hair dresser and asked them for a major and drastic color change. They simply didn’t know my personality well. To no fault of their own. They didn’t know much about my lifestyle or my work either. When one books a color consultation, it is for 15-30 minutes. Is that how long it takes to call somebody your friend?  Actually, I would not trust some of my best friends with the condition of my hair or let them color it.  That would certainly be taking a chance.

Hair color is very personal. Shouldn’t your colorist know you more first before making a big change in your hair color? Even though they may do a good job and give you a nice professional looking color, it may not be what you want for yourself. It may look good on you and your skin tone but it very well may not be…”you”. That is a horrible feeling. It leads to awkward situations.  Getting the perfect hair color for “you” is much about accurate communication with your hair stylist.

I suggest showing one photo to a colorist of the color you really love.  Only one.  Dont describe the color you think it is to them.  Show one photo and say, “I want that color, can we do this today or will it take a few appointments to get to that color on me?”.

Going to a stylist without knowing exactly what you want first, leads to confusion.  Which might lead to your unhappiness.  If you must bring a few photos, allow your colorist to describe what those different colors are actually called, professionally.  Caramel, honey, chocolate are names that may get lost in translation, trust me on that, please.  Allow the colorist to speak and honestly tell you if your desired color would look good on your skin tone.  Allow your colorist to inform you of the expenses and maintenance a new color may bring you.

If I were to go back and fix my mistakes before I became a hair dresser; I would go to a new stylist a few times for less dramatic services first. Trims, deep conditions, semi permanent colors first. Get to know each other. Earn trust. Invest some time and money (tips) toward that stylist. Even while in Europe, one should consider giving a tip.  As it is a simple thank you & appreciation for your stylist being on their feet and serving you like a king or queen.  It is about showing your appreciation, more than the small bit of money, involved in the tip.

Let the stylist know you respect them as a human being.  As you know, we humans are far from perfect! Then, if you are not totally happy with your color, it will be easier to communicate together and find a solution that makes you both happy.

On the bright platinum side, the beauty of hair coloring is that you can usually change it easier than you can a short, bad hair cut.

Have a great hair day everyone!
-Style by Victoria-

Leave a comment