Ride the wave of styling. What a makeup artist/hair stylist does.

I talked on the phone with my parents last night.  I told my Mom about a nice job that I might get soon depending on how an upcoming work meeting goes.  After 20 years of me being a professional makeup artist she asked me, “What do I call what you do?”.  I was taken back by this question at first but then I understood what she meant.  I do so many different kinds of jobs for styling work and I free-lance.  I tell her so many different things that I do and I know it’s confusing to her sometimes.  Many people really don’t understand what being a makeup artist is all about.  We deal with many types of personalities and we are physically very close to people while doing our work.  Its challenging but rewarding if one is good at it.

What do I call myself?  Does it matter?  I guess so!  So I answered Mom, “Professional makeup artist and hair stylist”.  Actually,  I also help the photographer, producer, models, designers, with all kinds of errands. I even sometimes go get snacks & drinks for staff, models and actors when they can’t leave the set. My main job is doing hair and makeup and assisting throughout the production.  Even with clothes & jewelry sometimes.

I have always tried new things when they are offered to me, jumped into the unknown waters and did what I could do best.  I look back and laugh at some of the jobs I have done they are so amusing! I tried to be of service to the project in any way possible. As stylists, we can always learn more from how others in our field manage business.  It really is a circus juggle act at times.  We have to be organized and prepared to succeed.  Plus, on time or early getting to a job while looking our best.

Since I have broadened my horizons by attending the Toni and Guy Hair Academy in London for hair coloring, it has opened even more doors for me.  Therefore, I am doing many more tasks during photo shoots because I’m capable and trained.  For example, in Zürich I spent an hour searching for a hair extension tool used for removing hair extensions.  I walked around to many places until I found it and borrowed it from another salon. That was clearly not in my job description and it was not glamorous!   I did this for another hair stylist and not  for myself. This was urgent because the tool had broken right before the scheduled appointment with a repeat client!   These are the kinds of simple and humble acts that build relationships and trust with peers.

As a stylist, its best to be open to trying new things and that means being willing to help others at work too.   Even if you are not good friends or even if you don’t like them very much.  One of my former bosses at a salon told me when I was starting out, “You don’t have to really like a person to be able to work with them.”

I am out of my comfort zone now that I do hair and I have a hair coloring diploma. Learning to cut hair is my new challenge and I have to be self motivated.  It’s hard!   I have to go with the flow and be humble.   What we say in California is, “Ride the wave”.  We all will have ups and downs surfing and certainly we do not always choose which way that wave is taking us.  It’s exciting but we have to first just get on the board, learn how to stand on it and balance.  Even as a professional with experience, I still have to get used to a new surf board in uncertain waters after all these years.  Ride the wave the best way you can!

Please feel free to see photos of my work on my website, Style by Victoria. 

Leave a comment